week 12 RECAP (Thanksgiving Break!)

I ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT THIS! OH SHOOT! 10:05 PM, let’s do this.

To start off, I am so very glad I had this week off. I haven’t felt this distressed in so long and although everybody is having trouble finishing college apps to have much of a break along with the AP Lit extra credit, I am enjoying myself. I mean, yes, college apps are important and need to be done but for me, I’m not really stressing where I go. I finished my CalState Long Beach, Fullerton, and Cypress College submissions earlier today and I am not worried whatsoever. Wherever I go, I know that I will do just fine as a future Business major and Psychology minor.

Regarding sleep, I’ve gotten lots of it. I get at least 10 hours a night and a few naps here and there throughout the week. It’s been a blessing and I’m sad this week had to end. Those 1 AM nights watching K-drama were pretty fun as it gave me a chance to forget about the world around me for a while, but of course, I wish I slept earlier. In addition, because I focused on sleeping too much, I have not started on the work I wanted to get done and while it’s Friday night, I got two more days to read and analyze my AP Lit stories, my Psych project which I will definitely finish by tomorrow, Psych flashcards for the new chapter so I don’t have to cram before the day of the test, and my favorite, binge-watching more K-dramas. Instead of learning Korean, it should be a daily dose of K-drama but I don’t think I’ll be able to keep up with it either now that practice is going back to its normal schedule. There’s limited time and I have to make the most of what I have after the 6:30 PM – 9:30 PM practices, doing what? StuDYING! Hurray for being so scholarly. I hate it but while friends have told me that it’s not necessary when I’m going to a CalState, it’s a part of my personal achievement to graduate as the best Luu student that ever set foot on the Cerritos High campus. Back to sleeping, I think my body clock has been adjusted to sleeping at at least 1 AM. All week, even after DDT practice, I would have enough energy to relax, shower, eat, and watch a couple of episodes of drama before I went to sleep. It’s both a blessing and a curse to the point where I won’t get tired until then and sometimes, won’t get tired at 1 AM and I would stay up even later like last night, 2 to 3 AM. Well, last night was Thanksgiving night and that’s another story but sleepwise, it’s been great and I am really not looking forward to going back to school, especially when Christmas is three weeks away. It’s so close yet so far.

Thanksgiving 2016 was one of the most festive and memorable ones I’ve had in a long time. Last night, at my cousin’s newly remodeled house, she decorated the table so beautifully with what looked like Pinterest things. The tableware, the food, the decorations, the plating of cheese, crackers, fruit, nuts, and salami, it was all amazingly decorated. The colors of brown and orange, red and such, the smell of the dishes, it really felt like Thanksgiving to enjoy with family. When I got in, I was just stunned at how well my cousin prepared for these sort of events. It was very well done and the food, I never had two kinds of stuffing before: oyster and sausage stuffing. In addition to pumpkin spice cider, it was all unique and I’m glad I got the chance to experience such things. Like my cousin said, “If you don’t look fat, you’re not doing Thanksgiving right.” She was right. I felt stuffed and definitely felt the weight gain.
While everyone was settling in and enjoying their conversations with one another, some of us including myself, cleaned up and got rid of what needed to be thrown out. Once we got the chores out of the way, we do our Tran-Luu family tradition at every party: board games. This game we’ve played was the most peculiar thing of the night because of the title. It’s a game of deceiving with political and historical context of World War II, made by the creator of Cards Against Humanity. Any guesses to the name of such a game? The game is called Secret Hitler. Secret Hitler, yes. Hitler, the elected Chancellor of the Fascists that killed all of the Jews. Yes, that Hitler. Yes, they made a game about Liberals versus Fascists with Hitler. It was odd at first but once we got into the game, let’s just say that family ties were nonexistent as the kids of our family who stayed for the after-party, bickered and deceived each other in order to find out who was a Liberal or Fascist.

Tonight was another great night with my uncle and two cousins as well from my dad’s side who came down for the night. My dad whipped up his famous steak cooking skills and made eight juicy steaks that tasted delicious. I didn’t eat as much as I could’ve due to the previous night’s heavy meat-load, what I ate hit the spot and made me content for a dinner. Afterwards, one of my cousins surprised us with a Paris Baguette cake from our mall. It was a bit pricey but it was light and the first time I tasted a cake from there. As I sit here watching the clock to make sure I submit this post before midnight, I wanted to end by saying that these past two nights made me really thankful, grateful, appreciative for my family members and all they do uniting together to share the laughter and good times.

Lastly, before I end this post, I have to end by talking about DDT practice: 4-day practice with the usual 1-7 PM Sunday, and 5-9 PM Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. The coaches had a deadline to meet to finish all of our routines which was accomplished, but all of us were sore. At the same time, it was a strenuous start to the break but after those four days passed, the real relaxation period started and it wasn’t so bad. On top of that, I’m happy with the progress I’ve made as a dancer on the team being the only or second boy to get my splits down. Well, not all of them but the left splits. I’m comfortable and it’s funny when we stretch and I just slide down so easily. Only one more day before we have Sunday practice again so I have to utilize it and have the most fun I’ve ever had before school starts again on Monday. That reminds me, a MultiVariable test is coming up and I am scared to my grave. I don’t want to learn nor do I want to be tested on material I haven’t thought about. I’ll let you know how it goes in week 13.

end: 11:07 PM

Leave a Reply

