week 1 + 2 RECAP

As senior year started to unravel its way into my life, it was time to start the 20-Time Project. Having it narrowed down to five activities I wanted to do for the sake of my life and all of that, I decided to mainly focus on the art portion for this project, improving my skills as an artist, and my knowledge of the subject. I’m doing my best not to disregard the rest but as the person that I am, if life happens and I don’t get to it, it will probably be a while for me to do or at least find the time to do the rest of the list: sleeping early, learning Korean, maintaining my personal blog, and becoming a better dancer.

In terms of sleeping early, I’ve made more improvement in the second week of school than the first and the entire summer. For once in two to three years throughout my high school career, for as long as I can remember, I slept before midnight and was able to optimize the amount of hours of rest. Even though there was a AP Lit Terms Test the next day, sleeping that early with a nap prior made me feel the most awake I’ve ever been in months and actually got me to score well on the test. For someone who didn’t really study as much as he wanted to, and studying the book instead of the entire list, an 86% is not too shabby. I’m satisfied and I hope next week gets even better, especially with so many events coming up.

Regarding learning Korean, I haven’t started that yet. For about a year now, I’ve had a Korean app that helps me learn the names of fruits, numbers, and everything else. I’ve used it a couple times a few months ago, but never really invested the time to learn a lesson. It may be because of the fact that I lost my phone and see no hope in finding it anymore, but I will be searching for an online program and most likely start learning by the next week as well. I don’t think it’ll be too bad, but let’s see how it plays out.

Next up is personal blogging, something I still haven’t got around to this week, but brought back to the surface recently. The last post was on September 3rd, about not officially eating at McDonald’s and Chipotle until recently, but since then, nothing. Maybe that was three weeks ago, not two. To be honest, I kind of cheated that post as well. It wasn’t really a real post, about personal topics like feelings and relationships and family and all of that. It was about an experience, which is a personal topic I guess if you look at it that way. However, I was working on an email assignment for a teacher that night and decided to copy and paste what was already typed out. It made me guilty a bit, but it was just a step to get it back up. Last year, I even publicized it on social media and it had more views than I thought it would, more than 200 at one point, but everything just died down after that. My posts about relationships were probably the highlight of the blog. I had a series of three “chapters” and one Facebook post and one Snapchat story later, I saw pride and confidence for a day, then it all disappeared. The dream is to get my blog public and well-known like the professionals. I may need to provide more than just words on a post, probably take up photography, cooking, graphic design, fashion design maybe, to make the blog itself pop and stand out with color, but for now, let’s just stick with words.

For being a better dancer, I attended all of the practices there ever was for the 2016-2017 season so far. From the summer’s 4:30 PM-8:30 PM practices on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays to the school year’s 6:30 PM-9:30 PM on Tuesdays and Thursdays, 1 PM – 8 PM on Sundays, it’s safe to say I’ve improved a lot for a first year member on a team. From getting lost and messing up once every 8-count, I’ve gotten more adept at understanding and getting the feel of choreography. Lately, I’ve been providing more facials in my performances when we run through the piece, which is good. I’ve been getting more flexible as well, progressing on my left and right splits. So far, the overall experience is going well. Sometimes, it’s stressful but to become the best I can be, I still have a long way to go.

Last but not least, I also worked on my sketches these past two weeks as well. As it became my main focus for the project, I invested most of my free time in drawing and doing as many as I can. Last week, I was able to complete five sketches of anything that I wanted to draw. As listed respectively, there was Tadashi Hamada (Big Hero 6), Baby Dory (Finding Dory), Stitch (Lilo and Stitch), and Snowball (Zootopia). Tadashi wasn’t too hard, but was my cleanest sketch I’ve done. Dory was not bad either, maybe even easier than Tadashi. Stitch took a week or so because of all of those details on the ducks and the book he was reading. It was too much, so I finished the fifth sketch with an easy bunny that was both adorable yet vicious. Although there are four shown in the Instagram feed, the last one was a sketch of my friend John Chae. Drawing people was still new to me, therefore, I didn’t really think that it related to the rest of the animated characters. As a result, I was not eager to show it.

This week, it was a bit different. I still sketched a picture, the anime character that was probably the toughest character to draw. The amount of detail and shading was double than the Stitch. It took me forever, but hey, at least I got it done and it was one of the first experiences I’ve gotten with shading, besides shading in my Tadashi in class. Mr. Cepeda also got the class to do timed sketches on Wednesday and today, which was interesting. I drew a Minion both times, but it seemed easier this time around. To me, these activities we’ve been doing in Multimedia have been pretty helpful and enjoyable as I get one step closer to becoming an art master each consecutive week. With everything to consider, I feel like I am ready for anything and can’t wait to get on Illustrator and get a hold of a graphic tablet to perfect my skill even more.

With that being said, it’s time to leave for now. See you next week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

